Inconsistent shot groups

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by rooftop808, May 22, 2016.

1. rooftop808

rooftop808 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So, I'm new to archery. I bought a compound bow about a month ago. I have tight shot groups, but I can't keep it consistent. On Monday, I might be hitting the target dead on. On Tuesday, it might be low. So, I move the sights. Now it's dead on. But on Wednesday, it's too high. Hmm.... so I figured it must be my sight picture. But from what I can see...it looks the same with each shot. Hmm... so I go through this mental checklist. Feeling the anchor points in the right areas... check. Seeing the circle within the circle... check. Pin on target... check. Bubble in the center of the level... check. But still... my tight shot groups are inconsistent.

Any suggestions?

2. elkguide

elkguide Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Relax. Would be my first bit of advice.
    It does sound like you aren't anchoring the same but it is hard to say without watching you. If your groups move the way that you say I'd just keep on shooting without messing with your sight and seeing what happens day to day over an extended period of time.

3. happyhunter

happyhunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    What elk guide said is hard to disagree with.

4. elkguide

Dislikes Received:

I'm glad you are finally coming around to the "light side" hh.

5. choppersk61

choppersk61 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Could be a few things...

First one, your front sight is loose, so make sure everything is tight...

Second, like Elk guide said, practice for a few days without changing anything.

Third, and most likely problem is that you don't have a proper head / anchor position. So... next time you go shooting try the following:

Anchor an arrow and line up in front of your target.
    CLOSE your eyes and draw keeping your eyes closed...