Hunting Style?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Squatchman215, Feb 10, 2016.

1. Squatchman215

Squatchman215 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hello everyone,
    I am new to bowhunting and after months of research and shooting finally purchased my bow set-up a few weeks ago. I am well on my way to scouting the public land I will be hunting in Indiana and sighting in my bow. I was curious though what advice or opinions you all had about hunting on the ground without a blind. Success stories, what you've learned, is it preferable or possible? Or should I just get comfortable with a tree stand and not waste my time? Thanks!

FYI: I ended up getting an Elite Synergy.

2. elkguide

elkguide Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I prefer hunting on the ground. I use a premade blind but more often, I find a spot and brush in a spot that gives me the right spot to sit and wait. One of the most important issues in a ground blind is your screening behind yourself so that you don't end up silhouetting yourself with nothing behind you. You have to be extremely careful with every movement but man is it fun to be on their level.

3. ybohunt

ybohunt Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Hunting on the ground without a blind is tough but it is do able.I have killed quite a few deer from the ground with a gun but only two with a bow.When you are hunting on the ground it is much harder to get away with movement than it is from a treestand and you need some cover to break up your outline and having soemthing like a ghillie suit helps a lot.However being on the same eye level as the deer is a lot more thrilling than when your 18 feet above them.

Most people (myself included) prefer hunting from a stand becauce its easier to get away with movement/wind direction ect....And the deer just dont seem to see you as easily.
    So I would get a stand.

Great choice on the bow.

4. SharpEyeSam

SharpEyeSam Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received: