Looking to buy my first bow need advise.

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by romannumal, Feb 4, 2016.

1. romannumal

romannumal Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to archery. I have it down to three bows. I am looking at elite impulse 31 or a Hoyt defiant or nitrum 30. Any thoughts.

2. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Warranty on Elites is the best but you need to go shoot them all. A warranty is useless if the bow doesn't fit you well. I bought an Elite after shooting 6 other name brand bows. It was the one that I liked the best. For you it might be the Hoyt

3. cg2737

cg2737 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Like Shocker99 said. Shoot every brand available to you in your area. I have shot Mathews since 2000 and ended up buying an Xpedition Xcentric 7 after shooting all the bows at my favorite shop. The Elite 31 was a super close second. I kind of wish I had that one also. Have fun choosing your new bow.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. romannumal

romannumal Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am going to shoot them next week while I am on vacation in hayden Idaho.

For new shooter what is a good lbs to start with. The bear bow I have been borrowing was set at 57 lbs and at first I was wow that was hard. After about a week it was much easier to shoot.
    Also what Is the best bang for your buck on a good site and rest. I hope to be able to bow hunt mule deer next year in AZ. well that is my plan

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

5. ybohunt

ybohunt Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    First off what are you looking to spend on sight and rest ?
    If your looking for a sight in the $50 to $100 range then I would look at a Trophy Ridge Cypher 5($75ish) or the Truglo Carbon Hybrid.($70ish)
    If you can spend more then that I would look at Spot Hog or Black Gold.

For a rest I would get a Trophy Ridge whisker bisciut. (about $50)