New to compound bows

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by leesanjoey, Jan 13, 2016.

1. leesanjoey

leesanjoey Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to the sport Im mainly a crossbow guy but I'm very interested in purchasing my first compound bow. I have 2 bows that I am considering purchasing, one is the stinger X by PSE the second is the Diamond infinite edge pro. I'm looking for a bow that I can do everything with archery, bow fishing, And a bow that is good for traditional deer hunting. I'm a normal guy with a normal paycheck and like a lot of us on a tight budget, and both bows are in my price range they both have two good package deals that come with with everything you need to get started,for like $530 those are really great deals in my mind. am I overlooking any other good name brands or package deals out there?

2. Alan Mcfadden

Alan Mcfadden Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am brand new to archery, never shot a bow until now....I got the diamond infinite edge with rest,sight quiver for 249.00 so gar I really like it....Not sure what the difference is between the pro and the edge

2015 Diamond infinite edge..
    new to archery
    new to deer hunting..

3. BB4tw

BB4tw Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Most all the companies make a highly adjustable bow like the Infinite Edge. Bear make the Cruzer, Mission make the Riot and on and on.

They are mainly marketed toward youth because they can adjust to a growing archer but that same design makes them very useful for an adult who may be looking for one bow that can do all things.

It can be set at 70# for an Elk hunt, turned down to 60# for a cold weather deer sit, or down even further for some bow fishing, squirrel and rabbit hunting or stump shooting.

You just have to remember that the sights will need adjusting each time draw weight is messed with and and arrow spine needs will also change.

4. SkyeRayne

SkyeRayne Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey Alan,