New To Archery, But Eventually Want To Hunt.

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Black Shot, Mar 26, 2013.

1. Black Shot

Black Shot Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey Everybody,

I'm new to the whole aspect of shooting sports (and this website) and from NJ, Hudson County, specifically. I've been checking out bows and archery shops closest to my area (Proline in Queens, NYC/Targeteers in Saddle Brook, NJ) and have watched every video on Bow Hunt or Die and they're awesome!

The only experience with a bow that I have was long ago in my cousin's backyard in upstate NY with his junior Recurve. It was a crap bow and arrow set, but I was able to shoot it pretty well and straight, but I know that doesn't mean much.

Anyhow, I was just wondering if any old pros, or new pros for that matter, had any tips about bow purchases and what is the best way to get started. I have figured out that my DL is at least 30in (I'm 6'3" and lanky, I'll admit it) and would prefer to finger-shoot over a release and would like to go Compound over Recurve, though from what I read most say that Recurve is best to learn with (but I'm not trying to pull that much weight back 50x in a row during practice).

I know I'm going to get sore and tired, but it's going to be worth it. I eventually want to hunt but I also know I have much to learn and a lot of practice ahead before that happens (on top of acquiring a hunting license). So, I guess another good question would be, start with a target bow and move to a hunter or just go all out hunter? I have always been of the mind that if you are going to learn something, train with what you will eventually use. Thoughts? Please?

2. Jamesinator

Jamesinator Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Well first of all, welcome!