NEWB new to hunting, need everything. Advice?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Iam4Clemson, Feb 23, 2015.

1. Iam4Clemson

Iam4Clemson Newb

Dislikes Received:
    OK, I say Im new to hunting, but I have hunted duck and dove with a shotgun in my younger years. Now, I am older and really want to get into bow hunting...first for deer and then moving into turkey and hogs as well. My problem is I have NO gear and need it ALL. Not one thread of camo do I have. I have pretty much decided on getting the Bear Cruzer for my bow so that is decided, but what do I need besides a bow (and the arrows, etc that goes with the bow)? What will I need to buy, at a minimum, to start hunting deer? Its all so overwhelming that I dont really even know where to start.

If you tell me camo, please tell me what brands are good, etc. Remember, Im trying to do this on a budget...I dont want to break the bank.

Any help?

2. Bowhunter0132

Bowhunter0132 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    A pro shop can and should set your bow up for you. Everything is really by what you like and what works for you as far as equipment. You don't need the newest, most expensive stuff to hunt and for most things, the cheaper models can work just as well. The only things I would not go cheap on are the tree stand and the safety harness. The stand you will be sitting in for hours.. you need to be comfortable. The harness could save your life if a mishap happens.

If you are hunting public lands, get a climber tree stand. You will pack it in/out with you for each hunt. If you have your own land or some private land to hunt, a ladder stand would work. Whatever you get, read up on the safety points and how to properly use it. If you get a climber, practice with it when you can so you aren't fumbling around in hunting season. You could also go with a ground blind, but my experiance is deer notice the blind and know it is out of place and are cautious of it.