Well hit the deer, but lost him....what happened?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by ghostrider, Nov 9, 2014.

1. ghostrider

ghostrider Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi all, I am in my 1st year of bowhunting and unfortunately lost a deer today.

I am shooting a Matthews Solocam Creed w/ 50 lb draw weight.Was using a whacker mechanical broached, I think 100 grain.

My shot placement was not the best, but looked to be right above the ribs or lower saddle area. She bled fairly well and I was able to track her and saw where she bed. My arrow penetrated maybe 3-4" and she snapped the tip off when she ran, keeping only the broadhead and the very tip of the shaft in her. WHY DO YOU THINK THE ARROW PENETRATED ONLY 3"-4"?

The reason I lost her is b/c I came back in an hour and went to where she was bed and she bolted. I was able to track her a little, but the blood must have slowed b/c I lost the trail...so unfortunately lost my 1st deer I shot with my bow.

Did I shoot and hot a bone? Do you think my mechanical blade may have popped open and didn't penetrate?

2. dnoodles

dnoodles Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    well, first off...welcome to the club. (both the bowhunting.com club and the "I lost a deer cuz I don't know what I'm doing club". Many of us on here used to be in that club.)
    Second - you didn't say how many yards she was, so there's no way to comment as to why the lack of penetration.
    Thirdly- do not give up after one afternoon. Keep looking. Call more experienced friends. Look into dog services. Just keep looking.