Noob bowhunter jitters and freezing up. First Time Jitter or I am just a coward?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Goober, Oct 31, 2014.

1. Goober

Goober Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi name's Goober(not my real name but..) and I am obviouly new here. I am the youngest of ten boys and live on the farm my great-grand dad bought. I am 21 years old and despite living in the rural areas, I have never hunted anything before. I am a proud mama's boys but have been wanting to learn how to hunt animals and process the animal I kill.

Anyways, like I said I have never shot anything with anything. I am not just new to bowhunting I am new to hunting in general. My first time hunting, I had manage to find a good spot and was lucky to find a doe not to far from me. I got my rifle(I was experimenting with different things),scoped in and aimed...and aimed...and aimed. I couldn't pull the trigger. I tried multiple time in differnet areas. With bows, rifles, even slingshot. I pointed(never shot) at deer, squirells, boar, and doves and still could release the bow or shot the gun/slingshot.

My grandpa says it's because I don't have a hunters bone in my body, that I am more of a farmer but I doubt it is just that. My dad said it is normal and to keep going out there with him and one day when I am ready, to not rush it which is good advice but doesn't help me with the freezing up, fast breathing/hyperveniation and etc.

So I was wondering if any of you guys, bowhunter or gunhunter, have any advice for me to help with me not being able to pull the trigger? Or am I just being a wimp?(it's what my brothers say)

2. No.6Hunter

No.6Hunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: