What non-archery equipment do I need to get started?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by shardede, Sep 10, 2014.

1. shardede

shardede Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hello,

I'm fairly new to archery (traditional) and once I am accurate enough I would like to start hunting. I'd like to avoid the hype and thousands of dollars of supposedly "must have" equipment and accessories. Assuming I'm just hunting from the ground, what basic equipment do I truly need?

I assume boots - what kind? Special socks? What kind of gloves? (Need to keep warm but also pull & release the string!) Is a Gore-Tex jacket a must? Anything special underneath? Hat? Backpack - how big do you recommend? Type of fabric?

Thanks for any suggestions, both general and specific!

2. Aaron Jones

Aaron Jones Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: