Peep sights... Am I doing it wrong???

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Hunta270, Aug 20, 2014.

1. Hunta270

Hunta270 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    G'day y'all

I'm new to using peep sights and was wondering if I'm using a wrong or or inconsistent technique..

I'm primarily a rifle shooter and anytime I've used "ghost ring" or aperture/peep sights the technique has always been to look through the ring/peep and centre the tip of the pin in the middle. This is how I've been using my peep sights on my bow. Look through the peep, centre the appropriate pin in the middle then place pin on target and fire.. I have shot some pretty reasonable groups and taken game too. I often read about people placing the sight housing within the peep then moving pin onto target.. Which is right?? Or if both ok which is more consistent??

Cheers guys

2. CarolinaMan

CarolinaMan Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Good question never thought about that guess I'll keep it in mind next time I'm practicing and see what works best for me I think I get the pin on first then center the peep sight around the pin but now sure

3. KjKlump

KjKlump Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    It's all what your comfortable with.
    The human eye and brain love to center things.
    This is also where your peep diameter and sight housing diameter come in to play.
    I know guys that want to see the colored ring on their sight through their peep and those that don't.
    The more things you line up, the more consistent it should be.

4. Muzzy Man

Muzzy Man Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: