Stability and Consistency

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Aylamel27, Jul 13, 2014.

1. Aylamel27

Aylamel27 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am relatively new to archery and new to the forum. I am looking for some advice.
    I have been shooting at the range for about 5 months with my husband with the intention of eventually getting out in the woods with him. I am having trouble keeping stable. Some days I am all over the place and others I seem to be “dead on”. Is there anything in addition I can do outside of practice, practice, practice to help in becoming more stable and consistent? Any advice is much appreciated. Don’t know if this helps but I am shooting an Infinite Edge at a 29” draw and pulling just over 40 pounds. (They just upped my weight but did not want to know exact numbers as I did not want to freak myself out)

2. SPOTnSTALK

SPOTnSTALK Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Other than continually conditioning there is no way to stabilize. Bowhunting is hard.

3. ISiman/OH

ISiman/OH Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Work on your form , it's the biggest deciding factor in your shooting.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Aylamel27

Aylamel27 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am practice, practice, practice! I know it will take time I just tend to get frustrated with myself. I will not go out until i am 100% confident I can take a clean ethical shot. If it takes me 2 months or 10 years I will wait until I am consistent and ready.

5. biscuit

biscuit Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Yep what they said, with out a doubt.

6. b_walte15

b_walte15 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Sometimes I find myself just going through the motions. I have to tell myself to slow down and focus on every little aspect of every shot. Remember- practice doesn't make perfect; PERFECT practice makes perfect. Don't get discouraged and keep getting after it!

7. Aylamel27

Aylamel27 Newb

Dislikes Received: