Cooking jerky

Discussion in 'Game Processing, Recipes & Cooking' started by Turkeysniper511, Oct 16, 2014.

1. Turkeysniper511

Turkeysniper511 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    This is my first time making jerky. I've all ready got the meat cut from the processing place and I just bought a dehydrator. I got some seasoning so all that's good but question I have is I don't want it like shoe leather I want kinda tough but not a lot. So how high should I put the temperature and how long should I cook it?

2. patinthehat

patinthehat Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    normally you don't have it any hotter than 130-140 degrees. as far as time, my batches tend to go 8 hours or so. sometimes longer depending on the thickness.

3. Slugger

Slugger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I just check every hr after about 5 hrs. Batches for me vary so times vary as well.

4. CILhunter

CILhunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I like a little apple wood or hickory smoke on my jerky, so I put it in the smoker for 45 min to an hour at 180. I suspect it is "cooked" by the time I take it out and put it on the dehydrator, but it takes it 8-12 hours, depending on humidity, etc. to dry.

5. rangerFGM

rangerFGM Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I use a smoker and usually takes 3 hours ... 1st hour 140, 2nd 150 and 3rd is set @ 170 ... I don't add the apple shavings until the 2nd hour ... does not come out like leather but I slice the meat about 1/4"

6. FriscoSpices.com

FriscoSpices.com Newb

Dislikes Received: