Venison Salami?

Discussion in 'Game Processing, Recipes & Cooking' started by Hillbilly Jedi, Oct 11, 2014.

1. Hillbilly Jedi

Hillbilly Jedi Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Anyone have a reasonably easy venison salami recepie? I got my first buck this year and want to do some smoked salami. Any suggestions would be great. I see a lot on the internet but want to some actual input from consumers. Thanks!

2. Polecatmasten

Polecatmasten Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I've been making summer sausage and salami for 10-15 years and will tell you, it is more about the process than what's in it. The meat needs to go thru a 3 day curing process, mixing it everyday to be sure it is cured. Cured meat can be smoked at a low temp and not have the risk of spoilage.
    If your going to stuff small casings, the meat will need to be brought up to room temp before stuffing to make it easier. It is cured so it this will be ok. I also let my stuffed product hang at room temp for 7-10 hours before I smoke it. The one thing I use to give the old school sour flavor is E.C.D. Or encapsulated citric acid. This is what the original German sausages taste like. They used a product called fermento, it was used to make the meat go thru a fermentation process. Directions will come with the ECD, I follow these pretty close. I will smoke mine low, low, low, and slow to raise the internal temp to about 157*. You will want to monitor this the whole time your cooking. The second it reaches 157 not more than 160, I have a big cooler full of ice and a little water to shock or stop the process. Let it cool till the internal temp is 110 or less.
    I have made it with about every combination of beef and pork and different percentages of fat. I prefer 80% deer 20%pork butts.
    On a side note, this is just my way.. There are hundreds of ways to do it. I have a big homemade smoker and don't own a processing business. After all of my "bad" sausage, I learned a few tricks ..)