Have any of Y'all entered a BBQ contest?

Discussion in 'Game Processing, Recipes & Cooking' started by biscuit, Jul 16, 2014.

1. biscuit

biscuit Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    My wife bought me a green egg back in 07 for our anniversary, and I must say that thing is a bad mama jamma. Now I'm no expert when it comes to smoking or grilling, but I've got to say that green egg makes it easy. So we have a contest coming up here in Fayetteville NC soon. I'm gonna drag my green egg out there and go for broke. Does anyone have any, and I mean any expereriance with these types of cook offs. I have to cook a brisket, and meaty ribs. I'm thinking a good brine for the ribs, and and nice dry rub for the brisket.

2. drath

drath Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I’ve thought about entering a small, local cook off a couple of times but something else always comes up. I’ve been to a few big ones and they are serious. Memphis in May is insane. People come in from all over the world to show off their cookers and skills. It really is a sight to see. I used to manage a large BBQ/Sports Bar back in the early-mid 90’s. We got all of our sauces and rubs from John Willingham. He was a virtual who’s who in the world of Bar-B Que. He could tell some stories. When you win Memphis in May and the American Royal on more than one occasion you know you’re the man. Anyway, his dry rub “W’Ham” is the only rub I’ll use to this day. It’s absolutely awesome.