Best clover/winter rye seed mix on the market

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by Tannerb34, Apr 15, 2014.

1. Tannerb34

Tannerb34 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to planting food plots, and I was just wondering what the best brand to buy for clover/winter rye seed mix?

Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  2. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Hard to find anything wrong with Whitetail institutes seed. For a company brand type seed...it's about as good as I have ever bought. They have a lot of options but don't have a rye mix that I recall.

3. bluecollaroutdoors

bluecollaroutdoors Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    How big of an area are you doing? You could save yourself some cash by getting a 50 lb bag of rye for $13 and a couple lbs of ladino clover vs. getting some namebrand stuff.

Or get the Whitetail Institue clover and buy some rye to add to the mix. Its 70 cents a lb around here thats why I just get the big bag and call it a day.

4. Tannerb34

Tannerb34 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thank you for the response. I am only planting an area that is about a 1/4 acre.

5. BigPhil_H

BigPhil_H Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Check out my thread titled "My first food plot is awesome" posted in this category. This is also my first year doing a food plot and so far, I can't complain with Imperial Whitetail No-Plow

6. bluecollaroutdoors

Dislikes Received:
    I dont know whats in the no plow but you could certainly put 20 lbs of rye and 3 lbs of white clover on that spot and have a hell of a plot. Rye will grow anywhere. Next spring you can let the rye grow up and cut it down or let it go to seed and die off and have a perennial clover plot.

7. Blarney22

Blarney22 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    bluecollarouotdoors - I am a fellow Wisconsinite, where do you buy your rye?

8. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: