How To: DIY Trail Camera "Homebrew"

Discussion in 'DIY Archery & Hunting Projects' started by MGH_PA, Feb 5, 2014.

1. MGH_PA

MGH_PA Moderator

Dislikes Received:
    I get questions from members on here time to time about how exactly you build a homemade trail camera, or "homebrews" as they're often referred to. While I'm FAR from an expert on the subject, there really isn't much in the way of a complete documentation of a build start to finish on many of the sites dedicated to this hobby. So as such, I decided to document a recent build of mine I just completed with the hopes of showing the steps involved for those interested.

Please note this for a relatively simple build. This is a white flash cam, with a simple trail/feed mode program. There are plenty of options for homebrews (video units, IR, Black Flash, IR night/color daytime, slave flash ((on and off camera)), etc.). I'm picking a simple one to document as this is your best bet when first starting out.

Here are a few things you will need (aside from the parts for the build):

Soldering Iron (micro/fine tip with adjustable range is ideal).
    Solder (1.0mm is my preference)
    Rosin Flux Paste
    Jeweler's Screw Driver Set (flat and phillips)
    Set of basic files
    Electrical Tape
    Wire Strippers/Nips
    Forstner Bit (1" Dia)
    1/8 to 3/16" Drill Bit For Pilot Holes
    Drill Press (You can get by with a hand drill, but you need to be sure to stabilize the box when drilling larger holes)
    Marine Goop
    Xacto Knife
    Spray Paint (Flat or Camo Style) in Green, Brown, Gray, and Khaki
    Various 26-30 gauge stranded wire in red, black, yellow, and blue (not necessary, but good to have in a pinch)
    This is a good place to purchase wire.
    Liquid Nails PL375