Discharging your crossbow at the end of the day.

Discussion in 'Crossbows' started by Neophyte, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Neophyte

Neophyte Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm new to crossbows. So when I was getting my gear together I bought a little "discharge" bag for shooting/uncocking a cocked crossbow.

It's about a foot wide, maybe two feet tall, and bright yellow in color. Where I hunt, I park my truck, walk in maybe a quarter mile (it's privately owned land), cock and load, etc.

So at the end of the day, I take out the broadhead arrow and replace it with a field point, walk back to the truck, and discharge the arrow into the discharge bag.

Assuming your crossbow has no feature which allows you to decock it, what do you do?

I read somewhere where some guys have "dirt" arrows, viz. arrows for the sole purpose of shooting into the ground. In cases where the ground is frozen, I'd imagine there are a bunch of broken arrows out there.

2. Slugger

Slugger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Yep my buddy just has a seperate arrow he shoots into the ground after our hunts

3. Jrealmuto1

Jrealmuto1 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    They make a discharging arrow for that reason. Walmart had them during season.

-Jeremy Realmuto-

4. celticwolf210

celticwolf210 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I carry a discharge arrow in my quiver when I go hunting. I keep a discharge target in my truck for when I come out of the woods when I can. I also keep a pack of CUBS(Crossbow Unloading Bolts) in my pack for those "just in case" moments. They work pretty good. One time use.

5. ChuckC

ChuckC Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Shoot it into the ground as well for the most part. Just have to make sure the ground isn't frozen, rocks or tree roots. If any apply then I usually have my block target in the back of the truck anyways.

6. Crossbow Joe

Crossbow Joe Newb

Dislikes Received: