Compound crossbow or not?

Discussion in 'Crossbows' started by bluenoser, Jan 30, 2013.

1. bluenoser

bluenoser Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hello, I'm new to bow hunting, and I am considering purchasing a fairly cheaply priced crossbow, but I am confused about what is better, a compound or non-compound crossbow?

I thought at first that all non-compound crossbows were the cheap ones, and that there was a certain price point where all crossbows were higher quality and thus compound, but now that I'm searching around I'm seeing non-compound crossbows in the $500-$1500 range.

So, my question is, which is better?

I know that money makes all the difference, and like any new hobby when your getting into it the better the quality the better the experience and the more likelihood that you'll like it and stick with it, but the reality is that I'm probably forced to purchase a crossbow under $500 bucks for now.

So I guess first, I need to know if I should definitely be looking at only compound crossbows, what FPS I should consider for deer hunting, and what pound pull I should also consider.

What do you think??
    Thanks!
    :)

2. bluenoser

bluenoser Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Anyone??

This is my 1st post here, I see lots of people looking, but nobody is replying.

I just want to know the difference between a compound bow and one without the pulleys.

Thanks!
    :)

3. Crossbow Jared

Crossbow Jared Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
  4. bluenoser

bluenoser Newb

Dislikes Received:

Thanks for your reply!!

I was hoping to spend between $300-$500 for an entry level crossbow, but it seems like everyone is recommending more expensive ones.

Are you saying that I can re-string a recurve limb crossbow by myself, but NOT a compound bow type?

That could be a major concern for me if that is the case because there is no place around here qualified to do that.

What do you think?

5. Crossbow Jared

Dislikes Received:
    No problem.