Mechanical Broadhead Question

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by SuperKirby, Jul 7, 2016.

1. SuperKirby

SuperKirby Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    So it's my first year bowhunting and I'm trying to finish getting set up. It's time to pick a broadhead. I'm leaning towards a mechanical, specifically the Grim Reaper Razortip Whitetail Special. It's a 2" cutting diameter. I thought I remembered reading awhile back that a cutting diameter that big needed enough energy to properly deploy and still get adequate penetration. I'm shooting a Bear Arena 30 at 60 lbs and 27" DL. Arrows are Beman ICS Hunters. Will this setup work with this broadhead or should I look for something different?
    Any recommendations for something better?

2. Wiscohunter

Wiscohunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    It will work.

3. elkguide

elkguide Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    IF I were to use a mechanical, I would use the NAP Kill Zone.

4. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    That might be a little light. It will kill and the GrimReaper does have the springs that eases opening the blades. The cam action of the Killzone or Rage would take less energy in theory. Or maybe consider a smaller cut on the 3 blade. Just a thought.

5. SuperKirby

Dislikes Received:
    So maybe the standard Razortip as opposed to the Whitetail Special?

Is there a better option? It seems like there's a bunch of options, maybe too many?

6. elkguide

Dislikes Received:

How much money do you have?

7. Wiscohunter

Wiscohunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Go with the whitetail special.

8. Western MA Hunter

Western MA Hunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    You will be fine...

9. SharpEyeSam

SharpEyeSam Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    ^Good Advice^

10. TomTom1

TomTom1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have used them , killed a few deer with no problems.

11. fletch920

fletch920 Grizzled Veteran