doe of steel

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by demonpep, May 30, 2012.

1. demonpep

demonpep Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Im a police officer in a good sized city. Our outskirts are farms n forests. We had to put down a deer the other day that had been hit by a car. Long story short, the warden decided cutting the throat was the way to go on this one. With a 7 inch opening in her esophagus etc, this doe lasted over 6 minutes. I couldn't believe my eyes. She was already bally banged up from the car accident, but just refused to give up. It was sad and amazing to watch at the same time.

2. madkins

madkins Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    That is amazing and sad at the same time. However, that brings up a good question. What is the most humane method of putting the animal down? I carry my field dressing stuff in the truck in case I drive upon an accident. Which happens often, I live across from a park. I would assume I would slit the throat as well, but is it the best method.

Sorry if this is a thread hack.

Thank you for sharing.

Mike

Sent from my iPhone

3. StringPuller#1

StringPuller#1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Why couldn't you shoot her with your service pistol? Seems like a quicker way to put her down

4. Rutin

Rutin Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I know in my area the officers are allowed to carry a personal weapon in the trunk to discharge on injured animals so that they dont have to use their service pistol and do all the documents on discharging a round. Ive seen both ways of execution done around here and usually slitting their throat doesnt take but a min. for them to pass, to each their own I guess... either way is better than laying there mangled in a ditch to die on their own.

5. The Amatuer

The Amatuer Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Execution?? Of a critically injured animal?

6. tynimiller

tynimiller Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received: