Broadhead Shot Placement vs. Field Points

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by dpnc, Dec 24, 2010.

1. dpnc

dpnc Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I just had my bow tuned up. It is a Bear Truth 2 and I have had it about 2 years, shooting only in the back yard but planning to hunt with it in January.

When I shoot field points at 20 yards, the bow shoots to my point of aim. Before tuning, the broadheads did too.

Now the broadheads shoot 3 inches low and 5 inches left. Consistently.

I am using 100 grain field points and 100 grain fixed broadheads.

I have been careful to eliminate shooter error. I am a newbie for sure, but I can consistently group the field points in about a 3" circle on the target with the occasional flyer.

Any thoughts on why the broadheads might be going to a different spot? They also group together, just 5 inches left and 3 inches low.

Any suggestions for figuring this out or adapting?

David

2. DriveTacks

DriveTacks Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    i had the same issue with new NAP thunderheads this year, wasnt sure what to do, called my bow shop, and they said i would have to adjust my sights to where the broadheads were shooting. Just sucks because i will have to reset my pins for the field tips for the off season again. if there is another fix i would love to hear about it. The guy at the shop said if they are grouping that is where they are hitting, and i would have to adjust to them...

3. carpsniper

carpsniper Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    How well do you trust the person who "tuned" your bow. If they were hitting together before, I don't think I'd have changed anything. But it's a little late for that.
    If it was me and they are hitting consistantly, I'd move my sights, hunt and then figure it out afterwards. JMO

4. WesternMdHardwoods

WesternMdHardwoods Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    So much for a "Pro" shop..!?