Scent control question

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by remist17, Sep 30, 2016.

1. remist17

remist17 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So Im new to archery hunting. Use to do a lot of rifle and the scent control was not all that important at 100yds. So I washed all my camo with backing soda this year and let them air dry outside. Then placed them in a plastic bag with some scent waffers (dirt smell) in the bag. Tide the bag shut. placed the bag in a rubber made box.
    prior to going into the woods, I give a quick spray with scent killer. When Im done hunting the clothes go back into the bag and tied closed. OK idea or bad idea? I do not have a special room to put the clothes in nor do I have the money to buy the technology./

2. cantexian

cantexian Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I would buy a laundry soap that is scent-eliminating and wash them in that at least once per week. Or after any hunt that you sweat.

3. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    That's a lot more effort than I put into scent control, that should work fine. I'm a hunt the right wind advocate.

4. remist17

remist17 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I would hunt the window, but Im limited to one stand in one area. So this is why im trying to limit the scent as much as possible.

5. selfbros

selfbros Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    You can buy regular scent free detergent from anywhere that sells it. You really need a detergent to get your cloth completely clean. Other than that you do what I do. except I get dressed in the field. you truck or whatever, will have scent in it as well. I also sprinkle some Baking soda in the bag too, but if you have scent waffers that may not be a good idea with the baking soda. I think if you try your method and you're either getting blowed at or not seeing deer try a difference approach. we are always learning from mistakes and that's how you become smarter.

6. NebMo Hunter

NebMo Hunter Die Hard Bowhunter