An Arizona Coues Adventure

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Scott/IL, Jan 2, 2016.

1. Scott/IL

Scott/IL Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Over the summer, I took on a new job at a plant, that shut down over the Christmas holidays. Having 14 days off, I needed to go find something to do other than sit around here in Illinois. The research and planning started, and I settled in on an Arizona deer hunt. To start off, I was more interested in a mule deer, but as I studied more, and looked at different units, Coues Deer began to light a certain kind of obsession in me....I wanted one. Over the last year or so, I have started dreaming of hunting sheep, and as I researched the Coues Deer I often heard it described as a "Poor Man's Sheep Hunt". I couldn't wait. This was also going to be my first attempt at hunting out west. The tag would be good for both Mule Deer and Coues deer bucks.

There were a few things I came across when trying to find out tips and tactics about spot and stalk Coues hunting with a bow:
    1) It's a hard. The specific unit we went to, with an OTC tag with archery tackle was something around 1% success rate for all seasons.
    2) You have to be in shape....not only physically, but mentally. You will spend HOURS doing nothing but sitting behind your binoculars and when it's time to move, you have to do it in a hurry.
    3) Be comfortable shooting very long distances. Many stalks can only get you within 70 yards and that may be your only opportunity.
    4) You have to be a little crazy. You're probably going to fail. Be able to accept that going into it.
    5) If you want to know what hunting a Coues Deer is like, take the cagiest old doe you have ever encountered, cross breed her with a Bighorn Sheep, slap a 70" rack on it, and stick it on top of a mountain with no cover, where everything that grows has thorns, and will stick you. Now go try and kill that with a bow.