best day(s) to be in the stand?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by ShaneB22, Sep 4, 2015.

1. ShaneB22

ShaneB22 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys I've been hunting for about 5 years so I would still say I'm a noob but I'm still trying to learn things. I sit in the stand as much as I can so I can try to learn more. I've noticed that some of you more experienced guys only sit a few days or a couple weeks out of the year and are still very successful. So what days do you think are the best days to hunt?
    I haven't really figured much out on one property because the deer there don't follow any patterns. They pretty much go in where they want and bed where they want whenever they want and I don't know why. Could it be they out smart me a lot or are they just that comfortable with the area they will do whatever they feel like doing?

2. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    In my experience. Other than when the rut is in full swing and other than the prerut. Any extreme change in weather. Hot to cold and vice versa. I know moon phases can be good if you can play them right too but from my own experience i would say extreme temperature change or the first calm day after a storm. But.....im a dummy. So dont listen to me lol

3. ShaneB22

Dislikes Received:
    What would a extreme temperature change be? I heard that that when it's about 15°f cooler than average for that time of year it would be a good time to be in the stand and any colder they wouldn't move as much until the next day.

4. Pitman

Pitman Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Hunt days that end in Y... People kill rly big deer in every situation you can come up with.. cold, hot, new moon, full moon, snow, rain, dry, windy, calm, you name it. I hunt every day I can and wish I could hunt the ones I cant. Im no master at killin big bucks but I do know you cant kill them from the couch! lol

5. MistaWondaBread

MistaWondaBread Weekend Warrior