Is it worth keeping?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by treyman654, Feb 18, 2015.

1. treyman654

treyman654 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Hello all,

Alright so for my birthday this past September my wife got me a used Bow (A Jennings CK 3.5) yes I know it is an old bow...however I am new to bowhunting so I knew nothing about it. Anyways I used it this past season here in Missouri and was unable to manage a kill with it (buck was never found). So here I am trying to figure out what some of my issues could be as far as my shot consistency. Now I do know for a fact that my draw length is too long for me and unfortunately I did not discover that until a few weeks ago.

Also, because I didn't know much about it I just figured it was good to shoot. Well, having thought about it I have no idea if the string has been replaced at anytime during its 10 or so years of age. when i got the bow I went to a pro shop and basically had a peep sight installed in the correct location for me.

My plan, (should I choose to do so) is to go to a local archery shop and have the strings replaced, corrected to my actual draw length, and install a new rest & sight and tune this thing for me.

However, with its age I have tossed the idea around of just going and purchasing a newer model bow and getting that tuned for me. My wife on the other hand, because she was the one who paid for it feels as if I should use it for a while before I go and purchase a new one.

Here's where you all come in, is it worth keeping and maintaining the bow? should I just scrap it and start fresh?

Let me know your thoughts/concerns/questions. Thanks.

Here are some pictures of the bow. I tried to get good pictures of the strings but all the pictures were taken with my cell phone.

IMG_20150218_183702792.jpg IMG_20150218_183715847.jpg IMG_20150218_183728680.jpg IMG_20150218_183738865.jpg IMG_20150218_183745168.jpg

2. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: