Dry fire accident...

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Noblacksheep, Jan 4, 2015.

1. Noblacksheep

Noblacksheep Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    So today I was putting on a stabilizer and whisker biscuit. I decided to draw my bow back. Not having any arrows, I can't shoot yet. The shop will be open tomorrow and I planned on testing some sights and getting some arrows. However, I had it almost at full draw, my fingers slipped and my string went forward. Now my string is not on my cams. Not sure if I damaged the cams or if the string is damaged. The string is still intact. Anyone ever have this problem? Yes, I'm brand new to bowhunting and I feel pretty dumb.

EDIT: Went into the pro shop, he laughed a bit and set the bow up. He said things happen. Bought some gold tip arrows and ready to go. Lesson learned. Pictures attached.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 5, 2015
  2. Andy_W7ATR

Andy_W7ATR Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Needs a full inspection by a shop qualified rep. Don't do anything with it until its checked out.

3. MnHunterr

MnHunterr Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Don't do a thing with it until you go to the shop for an inspection.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. alecmeurer1

alecmeurer1 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I have done this when I first got my bow. I thought I had an arrow in and shot. Luckily I was only pulling back 40 at that point and nothing happened. I brought it into the local archery shop and they examined it and put the string back on cams and its still shooting fine to this day.

5. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: