What are good Screw Steps brands?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Afflicted, Nov 10, 2014.

1. Afflicted

Afflicted Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I've never used screw steps before but I've got some thick areas I'd like to be able to a few times a year and be very stealthy. So I'd like to put some steps on a few trees so all I'll need to do is go in with my Lone Wolf hang-on and climb right up. So what are good quality steps that I won't have to worry about rusting out to quick.

Thanks

2. MNpurple

MNpurple Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I rarely use screw in steps anymore, more climbing sticks, but when I did, I always stayed away from those with a hinge of some sort. I had a couple of them break on me at the hinge and that's a scary feeling. I always had good luck with the solid, 1 piece steps and the skinnier the threaded section, the easier they went in. Never had issues with them rusting, but at the end of each season I wiped each of them down with some WD-40. They make some tree step tools to make them easier to screw in, never tried one though.

3. trial153

trial153 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I hate them. After banging the corner of my eye at the bridge of my nose, got nasty little cut and two black eyes....why do I blame the steps? I was climbing in the half light of the morning into a friends stand and the top step was placed at different angle ....I didnt expect it to be there. A climbing stick and it wouldn't have happened.

In any event. The only steps worth using are the Ezy climb steps...they really have a nice taper and screw in well. I use one placed above a stand when I am setting them in the summer with two people , I have a small block and tackle ...we pull the stand up to hight and then we don't need to hold it while securing it.

4. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: