Who has Killed a Deer While Rattling?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Rick James, Oct 17, 2014.

1. Rick James

Rick James Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    So coming from hunting exclusively in the Northeast where there are pretty low populations of mature bucks, I've never had a positive experience rattling. When I was young I tried blind rattling, and I've also tried rattling at deer that I saw at a distance to try and bring them in. Not once have I seen a deer react in a way that might help me to kill them.

I'm new to this midwest hunting thing, so I'm curious to understand who has killed a mature buck (let's say 3 y/o for this conversation) that they rattled in. Please share the details as well around setting, scenario, etc. I'd also love to hear about the failed attempts too.

2. MnHunterr

MnHunterr Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Only time I have ever rattled was when I was 13... Had no idea what I was doing and did it because I thought it would magically bring the huge bucks in.

Nothing came in.

3. tynimiller

tynimiller Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I've rattled in a lot of yearlings and a couple 2.5s but yet to have it yield a shooter...

4. Swamp Stalker

Swamp Stalker Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Same here!! I was thinking of bringing a set of sheds with me to Illinois in a few weeks. I've had the same experience here in the NE Matt....nothing.

5. cubs204

cubs204 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    [​IMG]

This guy came cruising through during the peak of the rut. Crossed in front of me 60 yds and was moving at a pretty good clip. Knowing he was cruising for does I knew, with 20 minutes left, that I would have to make something happen to get him back. Doe bleat, no response. Buck grunt, no response. Hit the horns together and he came charging back to 20 yds, hair bristled up. He made it 50 yds before piling up. We guessed his age at 4.5 or 5.5. 222 dressed out if I remember right.