Doe with her fawn

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Simplicity, Oct 12, 2014.

1. Simplicity

Simplicity Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So this afternoon I passed up a shot on a doe... She was pretty good in size and had a good shot on her but it didn't feel right. She had her fawn with her. This made the 3rd time so far this year that a doe and a fawn walked in on my hunt. It's also early in the season which also helped ease my decision.

I'm relatively new to bowhunting but I've been out in the woods plenty of times. I know that if she was alone I would've taken the shot but seeing she had her fawn with her... I found it really hard seeing myself shooting her. I know it's just a deer and all but I have some moral, enough not to take a mother from her fawn. So I didn't shoot.

What's your guys take on these situations? Shoot her and try not to think about? Shoot her and feel bad? Shoot her and not even cross your mind? Don't shoot her and feel good? Don't shoot her and feel like a wasted opportunity?

,Thanks.

2. Parker70

Parker70 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    It's all personal preference really. In reality almost any doe you shoot will have a young one with them or near by be it this years fawn or last. At this point in time the fawn will be fine. But I understand not wanting to take the shot.

3. cls74

cls74 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    You're going to get a mixed review of answers.

Mine is shoot if you want, pass if you want.

My opinion, I shoot. Either one of them, we're there to help control the population. Almost every doe that is shot probably has a fawn that she was either chased from or ran off leading up to the rut.

I'm not compassionate or emotional, just try to make a humane kill and fill the freezer. In the end that's what we're there for.

It's no different than shooting a spike or passing in hopes of a booner, personal preference and neither choice is wrong.

4. Simplicity

Simplicity Newb

Dislikes Received: