Chuck Adams says there is a "Void" and forget 30 min rule if it's almost dark

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by jackflap, Aug 27, 2014.

1. jackflap

jackflap Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    July issue of Bowhunter magazine

"High hits behind the shoulder are probably the most common poor hits.....Bowhunters often mistake a high hit for a lung hit. The lungs sit lower in an animal than many archers think...about five or six inches below the backline in a deer sized target. The hit you think is a winner might actually be just beneath the spine in a spot that seldom kills."

In his big game hunting tip section...How long do you wait?
    " The standard rule of thumb for a double lung or heart hit is 30 minutes. But you should follow sooner if you actually see your animal collapse, if it's raining or snowing hard enough to wipe out blood, or if it is nearly too dark to see."

I am not a physiological expert to know for certain about the "void" although I think most experts say it's nonexistent and it's a myth. Damn, Chuckie, do you stand by your comment?

...And being afraid to give the animal time to expire because it will soon be dark....irresponsible journalism by him, Bowhunter magazine and Hoyt for sponsoring it. Buy a lantern for crying out loud.

Agree or disagree on either statement?

2. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Chuck seems to know what he is talking about he has been at it many years

3. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I think the void is a topic that will be debated by bowhunters long after most of us are gone and will never be fully resolved. My personal opinion is that most of those high shots are going over the spine, not under it. Especially if they're a few inches back. I also think more deer survive a single high lung hit than many folks like to think, which contributes to the myth of the "void". Although I could be wrong, I'm certainly no scientist.