Public land hunting

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Jimmany, Aug 12, 2014.

1. Jimmany

Jimmany Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    This year I am only going to be able to hunt on public land (no land owners said yes) and this will be my first time. I need a lot of help if I want to kill something. Any tips and/or tactics would help me a lot. So tell me all you know. :)

2. bgusty

bgusty Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Start off by researching online. I don't know where you are from, but in MN the DNR website has the public hunting lands on a map called the Recreation Compass. You can find all the different spots, and then the map can be either a color coded map or satellite imaging. Each parcel then has a short description talking about the type of cover etc. Start with something like that, then go with boots on the ground.

3. bgusty

bgusty Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to public land hunting, so I am in the same boat.

4. MnHunterr

MnHunterr Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Google Earth will be your best friend.

5. POWERHAWK_11

POWERHAWK_11 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    And a little foot work.

6. Pichy

Pichy Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I recently lost permission as well, so will be doing mostly public this year. Check out Dan Infalt's website:

The Hunting Beast - Index page

It's full of info on public land strategies. Also, I recommend his videos, which are cheap enough, and have a lot of good information.

As far as how to hunt a piece of public ground, definitely use the web for satellite imaging, topographical information, etc. Consider getting away from the crowds. Go deep, stay downwind, and hunt funnels.