What to use for deer hunting

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by tomekkplk, Jul 18, 2014.

1. tomekkplk

tomekkplk Newb

Dislikes Received:
    As maybe some of you may know, I am new to Bow hunting and this will be my first season doing so, my question is what arrows and broad heads would you use? Accuracy and damage being most important. Currently I am using Cabelas Carbon arrows for practice but my friend told me about Bloodline arrows and Toxic heads. That's what he uses, for a new guy, or even someone who wants to progress in this, would that be fine? I hear lots of yes and no about everything when it comes to bow hunting, so thanks in advance!

2. bryanfichter

bryanfichter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Rage 2 blades

3. charness0001

charness0001 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Most arrows will get the job done, and as far as broadheads i would go mechanical. Fixed blades are amazing tools but your form must be spot on. Being a new hunter the mechanicals will fly like your field points and still be very forgiving. And then next year before season you could start playing around with fixed blade broadheads.

4. tomekkplk

tomekkplk Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Well once I posted this an ad come up about Red Maxima's "The Best Hunting Arrow Ever"

Anyways, yeah I was at cabelas picking up a few things and noticed the G5's.. Looked pretty sweet. Very Lethal, but reviews about the toxic were crazy, some guy said it opened a hole the size of a half dollar and one where he got a bad shot (horrible by the way he said it) 70yds later it just fell.

I'll look up the rage 2 blades

My boss (who doesn't bow hunt, he just duck hunts) said never go mechanical, only fixed blade. Very odd, didn't know why. Any negative sides of either vs the two? Sorry for a probably typical question.

5. charness0001

charness0001 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: