God has forbidden me deer

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Ohioboy, Nov 23, 2013.

1. Ohioboy

Ohioboy Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I have been hunting for 10 years, the last 5 with a bow for a longer season. I have spent thousands of dollars and countless hours in the woods of a 110 acre plot in ohio. Despite having several feeders with a plethora of pictures capturing numerous deer, I have still yet to be able to draw down and any deer, after 10 years of hunting. Is it time to hang up my hat, or grab a spotlight?

2. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I'd say it's deffinitely time to change tactics, either of the other options you list are your choice but I'm a stubborn SOB and wouldn't take either one.
    If you have habitat and deer the nthe only thing wrong is something fundamental in your approach, after a decade there's no other alternative. Do you see deer or is every sit a no show? Maybe between all of us we can help you out and get you on a deer.

3. Bootlegger

Bootlegger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Don't give up....in my experience the feeders make the more Nockturnal. I'm sure some won't agree. I own a 101 acres where I live and hunt. I have good luck each year. I put a LOT of time in each year with food plots, mineral licks and such. I have 8 stands on my land. Like said above....are you seeing any deer?

4. Ohioboy

Ohioboy Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I have seen more deer hunting every other weekend this season than every other season combined. Had a mature buck bust me while walking to my stand, had a few doe hang out just outside of range same with a 1.5-2 yr old Buck after rattling.

5. Sticknstringarchery

Sticknstringarchery Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I wouldn't recommend the last option at all. Hanging it up? That's up to you but, I wouldn't.

You're doing something that needs to be changed as said above.