My first questions..

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Joe03, Oct 26, 2013.

1. Joe03

Joe03 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I tried bow hunting way back before there was an Internet, 30 yrs ago and all I can say is thank God for the Internet and this site. This site and YouTube taught me allot about setup.

So, it still goes is that I am a newb. So help would be greatly appreciated.

Well just finishing setting up my new PSE stinger 3G with a little help from my local bow shop. (My wife bought me the bow for our anniversary and I purchased all my accessories from them)

To the basement and paper tuned, that went better than I though , great bullet hole after a bit of adjustment . Next the walk back and did pretty good there also.

Now to my questions. I set my first pin at 15 yards and 2nd is going to be set at 25. For bowhunting wound this work ok?
    I ask because standing at 25 yards, I'm not sure I would trust myself further out. Maybe some day I could set the third at 35 but just standing 35 yards from the target seemed..... Far.

So from a stand, tree and ground, what's my chances just shooting out to 25 yards max? I understand it all depends on where the deer track but should I just bite the bullet and attempt shooting further with really not feeling super comfortable with it.?

A 15 yards I can keep a shots in a 3 inch circle and as for 25 have not practiced that distance yet.

All opinions appreciated. Thanks. joe

Ps, only took one deer in my few yrs hunting and tha was with a scoped ruger revolver and that was with in 25 yards.

Last edited: Oct 26, 2013
  2. jnida

jnida Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have my first pin at 20 yards because everything inside of 20 I shoot with the 20 yard pin and have no trouble. Most likely you don't need a 15 yard pin

3. SPOTnSTALK

SPOTnSTALK Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    My two cents: