State Land Topo Stand Help

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by No.6Hunter, Sep 3, 2013.

1. No.6Hunter

No.6Hunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Was hoping that anyone with Topo experience could help me with this spot I picked out for this years State land hunt here in Michigan. This spot is about 20-25 yds into some thick and is bordered by relatively new select cut, Tried to find a "Bench" to set up on. I am very new to Topo so this is my first Topo selected stand ever.

First Choice.jpg

2. Backcountry

Backcountry Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Can you provide a more detailed map (zoom level?) Your showing us several miles of land here.

3. No.6Hunter

Dislikes Received:
    Sorry, Here is zoomed in as far as I can go

First Choice 2.jpg

4. No.6Hunter

Dislikes Received:
  5. Matr138920

Matr138920 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I would try to isolate the funnels, whether they be hills, a creek, ect... most deer tend to follow the path of least resistance, ie they don't like to travel up steep hills, but they might if they are pressured. I would get out and walk the area to get an idea of the territory, then if you can find the trails where they might converge and set up there.

6. Jake/PA

Jake/PA Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Im having a hard time finding that area. Can you post the coordinates.

Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  7. Jake/PA

Jake/PA Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Nevermind... Found it.

8. Treestandsniper

Treestandsniper Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    No expert but, you might try looking for a trail that runs parallel to the river at the southern end of the map where the left slope of the gorge is very close to the river. Work that area and you should be able to spot signs of heavy traffic on the muddy banks. You might even be able to float that big boy home.

9. wolvenkinde

wolvenkinde Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: