biggest rookie mistakes?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by ksredneck, Apr 17, 2013.

1. ksredneck

ksredneck Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Just curious what everyone thinks the biggest mistake rookies make when it comes to hunting?
    I don't have one because I'm still a rookie!

2. Spear

Spear Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    The biggest rookie mistake is to go hunting without practicing with their bow, without doing research about deer and their anatomy, and expecting to shoot a monster the first time out.

3. Chall08

Chall08 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    My biggest mistake from my rookie year last year was,after drawing my bow and looking through my peep and not being able to see my pin, and still taking a shot on that deer. Never again will I take a shot that I know will only be a kill shot by pure luck.

Making a not great hit and wounding a deer is one thing, but what a did was completely unacceptable and makes me sick to think about it now.

4. purebowhunting

purebowhunting Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Obviously poor shots are the biggest rookie or veteran mistakes. Other things I learned the hard way is when to call at deer. Many times less is more and your setup has more to do with success than the quality of sound made. Always play the wind, you can't beat a mature bucks nose. Stay safe, always wear your harness. Never stop learning.

5. dawg007

dawg007 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Moving to much in stand!

6. JGD

JGD Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Mine was continuing to set stands along trails waiting for deer to walk by without a clue where they might actually be feeding or bedding. 80 hours of sitting and 2 deer.

7. 130Woodman

130Woodman Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Stand jumping. Stay put an wait it out

8. Fitz

Fitz Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    My first rookie mistake was misjudging yardage.

9. Afflicted

Afflicted Grizzled Veteran