What was your very first bow??

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Sticknstringarchery, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Sticknstringarchery

Sticknstringarchery Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Just thought it would be fun to see what everyone else shot for their first bow.

I started shooting about 2 years ago now and my first bow was older than some of the members on here. It was a 199modelle Bear Blackpanther. Yep, and it was borrowed. I shot that bow for a 9 months before I gave it back. I did some upgrades on it, bought a bunch of stuff for it (that I kept and replaced back with the original), shot it so much I had to replace the string and once I figured out, I wasn't going to get out of archery I upgraded. lol I've come a long way from what I was shooting 2 years ago.

2. OK/Sooner

OK/Sooner Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Mine was a bear recurve that my dad had. When I was 9 he would make me practice hour and a half everyday if I wanted to hunt. I ended up killing a bobcat of all things with that bow. No sights no stab. Wish I would have stuck with it after getting my compound.

3. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    My first bow of any sort was a red fiberglass Bear longbow. My first "real" bow was a Joy Vallery Archery (JVA) Astro. After that I upgraded to a Golden Eagle Predator, which is the bow I killed my first deer with.

4. BigStick

BigStick Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Martin Prowler. Bow was made in the 1980s, I purchased it in 2008 on the advice of a friend who was already a bowhunter. I should have known something was wrong with his decision making ability when I saw him shooting an Oneida.

5. jbone302

jbone302 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: