To bleed, or not bleed your deer kill

Discussion in 'Bowhunt or Die® - Web Show' started by gdluck413, Mar 21, 2016.

1. gdluck413

gdluck413 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    After watching the last episode of BHOD Season 6, there was a fan question related to keeping meat from a Deer harvest, after it has been claimed by Coyoties. I would like to expand on this topic, with respect to one of my most commonly asked questions, or beliefs of fellow Deer Hunters. Again, everyone has their own belief, and or advice from their personal Butcher. So, please understand that this is meant just as an FYI. I am not trying to tell anyone their right, or wrong in their past practices. After your Deer kill, is it ABSOLUTELY NECCESSARY, to let your Deer hang for a day or longer before butchering the Deer? Well, I have a life long friend, who has been a Butcher by trade, for over 30 years and here is his answer. As far as the safety of the meat, there is no reason to let the Deer hang for any predetermained amount of time. According to the Butcher, a split hoofed animal does not need to hang, but to make your Butcher happy, he states it makes the job and clean up a much better exsperience for the person doing the task. Animals that are not split hoofed, they need to hang for at least a day. His recommendation is this: Temps over 40, but under 50, open the chest cavity with a clean stick and fully pack with ice bags. Temps over 50, it's best and in my opinion, we owe it to the Deer not to waste any meat, so find some place with a refrigerator to keep the meat cool if you need a few days before butchering. I Hope this helps fellow hunters who fight the warm temps as we have been plagued with year after year, here in Michigan.

2. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: