How far is too far?

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting' started by BowJangles, Nov 30, 2016.

1. BowJangles

BowJangles Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I've been hunting for several years and have begun looking into buying some property for hunting (deer, turkey, hogs) and some timber investment.

My buddy and I have been looking at different properties in different areas around where I live. We've found that the further away from our homes we go, the cheaper the land is. I'm most likely looking at 20 - 60 acres of just raw land without any building structures, electricity, etc in order to get the most acreage for my money.

However, I realize that the further away I have to drive, the less I will be able to find time to get to the property, and the less I will likely be able to enjoy it. I'm married with kids so it isn't like I can get in the woods every weekend.

My question is, in your opinion how far is too far from you home to own property? I'd like to be able to purchase as many quality acres as possible but also be able to have the time to get to it and enjoy it.

In addition to my question, if anyone else has any advice on what to look for or what not to do when looking/buying a first piece of hunting property I would appreciate the insight. Thanks!

2. MKleisch

MKleisch Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I drive 4.5 hrs to my uncles property and it's about the limit. Hard to make it after work and sleep enough to be peppy when the alarm goes off at 4:30am the next morning. Plus we don't get out there as much as we'd like for regular maintenance and so on.

3. Rick James

Rick James Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I've done it quite a few times and 4 hours is the limit for me.

4. A5BLASTER

A5BLASTER Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I would say no more then a hours drive from the house, that way you are close enough for a spur of the moment hunt and close enough to go do work at the land for your hunting.