More to Hunting - what's your motivation?

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting' started by deedee, Nov 3, 2014.

1. deedee

deedee Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Out There

I have watched this short video so many times and realized that there is more to hunting than just going out there and give an elk or deer a 'dirt nap' and 'punch a tag' as some of my friends put it. I am still new at hunting and learning as I go. I would love to understand more about what inspire or motivate a person to hunt if you would like to share it here. Thank you!!!

2. Dire_effects

Dire_effects Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Food.

That's the most basic reason I hunt. My family has a year or two's worth of meat in the deep freezer. Meat is sent to family, and made into jerky for preservation.

Today I thank the animal for it's meat.

3. Stefan Wilson

Stefan Wilson Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I hunt for food, but I also hunt because I care about the idea of deer and elk. Some might say that it is wrong to kill an animal, but if by harvesting a mature animal I am able to both feed my family with high quality meat and simultaneously help a herd to flourish through proper wildlife management, then everyone wins. Hunting is just as much abut conservation as it is about food.

4. b_walte15

b_walte15 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I enjoy the challenge of hunting and all of the preparation in order to make myself the best I can be. We can never stop improving. But my biggest motivation is spending more time and making memories with both the oldest and newest of friends and most importantly family. There is nothing like watching some shoot their first duck or biggest deer!

5. Fitz

Fitz Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Another great little film is "The Trembling Giant". Check it out. Also just about anything from Donnie Vincent :tu:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gORlBkVz2us

There are very few aspects of hunting that I don't enjoy to some extent.

6. Lady Liberty